Ancestry DNA

Hello Friends!

AncestryDNA is a new service that utilizes some of the latest autosomal testing technology to revolutionize the way you discover your family history.This service combines advanced DNA science with the world’s largest online family history resource to predict your genetic ethnicity and help you find new family connections. I have spent most of my time following others family trees so it is an exciting change to focus on MY family roots. Just for the day at least.Ancestry.com DNA kit

I received a DNA kit from Ancestry.com as a gift and I am anxiously awaiting the results. I will share it with you as soon as I hear and hope it answers some gaps in my family history.  I have followed my Maternal Scottish Grandfather Robert Strang’s line all the way back to Lanackshire, Scotland to 1749. My Paternal Hungarian Grandfather Bela Lepold was traced back to 1743 Consgrad, Hungary and my Paternal Hungarian Grandmother Julia is the mystery. She was born in Livada, Romania in 1913 and much of her family history was lost when she crossed the Atlantic into Ellis Island in 1928. My research has proved unsucessful ending with her Mother.  I always considered this to be the big “secret” in my family’s beginnings.

Elizabeth Jesse Robinson

My Grandmother Elizabeth Jesse Robinson.

King Henry VII of England

However, thanks to Ancestry.com, I opened up my account to find the well known “Green leaf/Hint” icon that led me to an even bigger reveal.  It was my Grandmother, Elizabeth Jesse Robinson’s line. An underground portion of my roots that lacked buds, leaves, or nodes and almost had disappeared from view.

“Betty” as we lovingly called her, was my only American- born Grandparent. My Mothers, Mother. The green leaf led me to her Welles line that carried me from the coal mining town of Wilkes-Barre, Pennsylvania up to Connecticut and eventually to 1547 and The Whitehall Palace of London England.  Home to my 12th Great-Grandfather, King Henry VII of England.  Yeah, that says KING OF ENGLAND!

downton-abbey-18Suddenly, all my fancy shmancy ways, my love for English High Tea and my obsession with Downton Abby all made sense! Could little ol me, the Grand-daughter of immigrants be descended from Royalty?  “But of COURSE…”, I answered in  the best English accent I could manage.

Mary_Tudor,_Princess_of_England,_Queen_of_France_and_Duchess_of_Suffolk

Mary Tudor, Princess_of_England, Queen of France and Duchess of Suffolk

Catherine Queen Consort of England De Valois and Mary Tudor, Princess of England and Queen of France, Duchess of Suffolk were little green leafs that made up this wonderful tree I had no idea existed. I am furiously googling the Castles and my imagination is wild with excitement to see the places my Ancestors once dwelled.

Ludlow_Castle_from_Whitcliffe,_2011

Ludlow Caste of Whitcliffe

My DNA results should be back in about 2 weeks  But for now, I shall call myself , “Lady April, Duchess of Washington Crossing.”

Good Day!

Lady April ~

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Ancestry DNA

Leave a Reply

